GIFT OF LIFE

Imaget
Life a wonderful gift given by god,
Realized when an event happened–very odd.
A day when I bunked the school,   

Went with my friends, making myself a fool.

To the nearby river to take a bath,

Who knew I had to face the river’s wrath?
Trying to swim in the water, known only to a few

Enjoying the moment and cool wind that blew.
Current of water in the river was slow and steady,

With the desire to learn swimming,I was ready.
Then, I suddenly started to drown in the depth of river,
My friends when seeing me started to shiver.
I started moving my legs and hands very fast,
It was useless, I felt overcome, but I had to last!
I cried in a loud, forceful tone, “Save me!”
I started to feel unconscious, unable to see.
When I opened my eyes, I felt myself at the brink
I was amazed, dumbfounded, unable to think

Friends told me I was saved by a villager boy,

I thanked him expressing feelings of joy.

I had never seen my death so near,
We went home in a mood of cheer.
This became a horrible day that I won’t forget,

But from parents, it was a secret kept.

                           by KAMLESH ORAON

3 thoughts on “GIFT OF LIFE

  1. “It was useless, I felt overcome, but I had to last!
    I cried in a loud, forceful tone, “Save me!”…you caught the exact feeling of being subdued by the water, as I almost drowned once, I can relate. The sensitivity of your heart towards your parents and concern for others comes through the last line:”This became a horrible day that I won’t forget,But from parents, it was a secret kept.” You have a grateful heart:Friends told me I was saved by a villager boy,I thanked him expressing feelings of joy.” Excellent poem!

Do share your thoughts

